Official name: Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Capital: Nouakchott

Official languages: Arabic

Monetary unit: Mauritanian Ouguiya

Population (million): 3.5

Total area (sq km): 1,030,700


Mauritania is located in northwestern Africa bordering the Atlantic Ocean. It shares borders with Algeria in the North-east, Mali in the East and Senegal in the South. At the turn of the decade, the economic growth in Mauritania has started to recover. Albeit, the poverty in the country still is a major concern with more than 40 percent of the population live in poverty.

Mauritania has a wealth of natural resources. The economy is mainly fueled by agriculture, mining as well as the modest production of oil and natural gas. The further socioeconomic development of Mauritania will rely on efficient use of revenue derived from its natural resources, diversify the revenue base and enhance its governance framework.

Year joined ICD:

Number of projects approved: 8

Gross Approval ($US million): 39.3

Gross Disbursement ($US million): 59.32*