Official name: Republic of Mozambique

Capital: Maputo

Official languages: Portuguese

Monetary unit: Mozambican metical

Population (million): 25.8

Total area (sq km): 801,590


Located along the southeastern edge of Mainland Africa, Mozambique is bordered by Tanzania in the North, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe in the West, the Republic of South Africa and the Kingdom of Swaziland in the South and the Indian Ocean in the East. Mozambique has experienced growth averaged 7.4 percent over the past two decades.

Despite the rapid economic development the poverty incidence is still prevalent in Mozambique. Historically, capital-intensive and import-dependent sectors drove Mozambique prosperous economic development in the past decades. However, its capital-intensive nature has to be accompanied with other measures to provide sufficient opportunities for the fast-growing young population.

Year joined ICD:

Number of projects approved: 3

Gross Approval ($US million): 40.00

Gross Disbursement ($US million): 0.09