Official name: Turkmenistan

Capital: Ashgabat

Official languages:  Turkmen

Monetary unit: manat (m)

Population (million - 2013): 5.2

Total area (sq km):  488, 100


Located in Central Asia, to the North of the Kopet Dag mountain range between the Caspian Sea and Amu Derya River, Turkmenistan is bordered by Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Iran and Afghanistan. As a country producing oil and gas, Turkmenistan has experienced robust economic growth in recent years. The country is classified as an upper middle income country.

With hydrocarbons representing more than 90% of exports, the continued decline in energy prices and fluctuating demand for Turkmen gas has a likelihood to reduce export revenues, may impose a concern for the future of its revenue potential. Today, the attention is increasingly being focused on economic diversification, an enabling environment for private sector development, investment in institution building and human resource development as the main pillars of sustainable growth. Moreover, needs for the government institutions to improve efficiency of spending and the effectiveness of service delivery to the population are increasing.  

Year joined ICD:

Number of projects approved: 1

Gross Approval ($US million): 5.00

Gross Disbursement ($US million): 0